Hi guys,

I got my manual 64 plate R the end of March. The past few days I've notice a grinding feeling when pushing the clutch in. Once it's fully pressed, I can hear a faint grinding sound and also hear it when accelerating. From some searching it looks like the clutch is the weakpoint of the manuals and judging from my findings it may be an issue with the throwout bearing.

Admittedly, I have very little knowledge when it comes to the clutch/transmission. If anyone has had a similar issue would be happy for any information.

To add, the car has 34k miles. I have a 2 year warranty so, I'm hoping it will be covered. Going to a garage on Tuesday to be looked at.

Thanks!

Patrick

Update!

Garage advised this morning that it is the bearing but they want to replace the whole clutch kit.

Been quoted almost £1700 for the job.. costs have been submitted to my warranty provider for approval, fingers crossed!

Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk

Warranty company don't want to cover any of it because the car didn't break down due to the fault. They confirmed there's some wear and as such recommend repairs. Gotta front up £540 now for the new bearing.

So now I think I'll be looking at Sachs Organic kit later down the line.

15 hours ago, Patrick said:

Warranty company don't want to cover any of it because the car didn't break down due to the fault. They confirmed there's some wear and as such recommend repairs. Gotta front up £540 now for the new bearing.

So now I think I'll be looking at Sachs Organic kit later down the line.