Zeddicus

How to get my perfect Mk7 R...

Hi All,

I've just signed up 👋 and was hoping to be able to pick your brains in advance of buying an R in early 2021 (currently in a leased Audi until Mar 21).

My background is that I am a total petrol head - a day isn't complete without fantasy shopping for my next car, reading the reviews etc.

I've had a Mk 7 Golf GTD in the past and have always wanted to get an R. After a few years in leased cars, I've decided I'm going to buy a R when the current lease is up.

It'll be used during the week mainly as a station car, hence wanted something that wasn't too big (although I still miss the sound of the Volvo V8 I used to have, especially on cold startup!) but still needs to have the kids in the back on occasion. Its mainly going to be for fun at the weekends and the odd work trip during the week.

I actually have a preference for the Mk 7 over the Mk 7.5. This is mainly driven by budget as I don't want to spend more than £15-£17k next year, but also as I don't like the pure touchscreen interface of the new Discover Nav. Some friends of mine have newer VAG products which have the touchscreen and its just a pain on journeys (their words).  Its a shame as I do like the look of the virtual cockpit, but on balance I'd rather have buttons!

I've listed out below my ideal spec for the R and I haven't actually seen a car in the last few weeks that has ticked every box. I wanted to get some advice as to what features could be retro-fitted (easily and relatively cheaply - I know that virtually anything is possible if I throw lost of money at it, but I'd prefer not to do that on top of buying the car!).

My starting position is a manual box and definitely not white! My ideal colours would be Black, Silver or Grey (in that order) followed by Red and then Blue.

I'd also like to have the following:

DCC

Panoramic roof

Leather (heated)

Big screen Nav

Reversing Camera