7R to 8R , Is it worth it and WHY ???

So before  i start ,  i can't afford one having been off work a lot during this pandemic being a barber by trade but thought it would be interesting as to why people change cars when not a lot has changed or has it and i'm missing something, you tell  me !

Before i got my 7R  i had a Mk5 GTI and loved it, had it mapped to 240 BHP and thought it went like stink , first DSG gearbox and loved that to, I paid £36k for the R and got £6k for the GTI, was the R £30k better , not really tbh, both do the same job, practical hot hatch, possibly more fun in a lighter GTI form and no four wheel drive but saying that, the tech and more modern looks of the 7 is a step up from the 5  without question, but £30K . Hmmm not sure, thats a lot of money .

Anyway , back on topic, there are many that have ordered the new 8r and good luck to those and hope you enjoy them , the reviews and videos i have seen on Youtube all say it's a better car than the 7 .

So if i was to get a similar  high spec 8R to my 7r it would be costing nearly £50k , saying i would get £15k px against mine , is it £35 k better ?

I know this is all  irrelevant and only my opinion but again , thats a lot of money  to change when i have a 7 year old car with 45000 miles  so even if i had the money i wouldn't do it  at my age now 52.

Anyway , interested to hear your thoughts and reasons for changing , is it mileage, new PCP deal, lease , prefer the look of the new one, you tell me , love to hear your thoughts 

Daz

• Replies 77
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Popular Posts

It's impossible to say whether it's worth it to anyone else, or to put a value on it to anyone else, I think can only speak for ourselves.   For me, yes it was worth it.  But then I made the